Bag Football

We all have plastic bags floating around the place. While I like using our cloth bags for groceries and such, I use Target’s bags when I go there. Why? Free trash can liners. Those bags are the perfect size for the small trash cans in our bathrooms, the office, the bedrooms, etc. I figure if I was going to use a plastic trash bag anyway to line those, why not use a free bag I’m already given? And they have a dozen other uses too.

But man, those things can take up some space! They were multiplying at the bottom of our pantry. You turn around and they’ve made babies overnight. I had to get them under control. I folded them, but they’re slick and don’t stay folded. Plus, they slide around and fall all over the place. So it was time to try soemthing new.

Luckily I found THIS tutorial via Pinterest. (Side note: Did you know our blog is on Pinterest? Find us HERE!) It shows how to fold the bags up like a football. You know, back in grade school when everyone made those little triangle footballs and played finger football, flicking those suckers all over the place? Yeah. That.

Here’s what I started out with. Doesn’t look too terrible just sitting on the table, but I assure you, it was a mess in the pantry.

Photobucket

Cameo by Ruth’s PB&J lunch and my computer…evil edits. And then after following the directions and folding away (while watching some mindless TV via streaming) I ended up with this!

Photobucket

Much better. Put it in a pretty basket that matched the rest of the baskets in the pantry, and pop that sucker back in. Oh, it is SO nice to just spend the 60 seconds folding the bags into a triangle and tossing it into the basket. So here’s the final result, all put away.

Photobucket

Ah. All that space that’s not full of slippery bags. Makes me smile to have it all off the floor and nicely put away!

Photobucket

And okay, lastly, because this is our family blog, right, I get to share some fun news! My newest book hit e-stands this week. This one was through Carina Press (Harlequin’s digital-first imprint) and is a Christmas novella! How cute is that cover? I wish I could say I had anything to do with it, but no. I just write the words, and the art department does the rest. If you want more info on that, then click HERE to see more! (That link takes you to my writing website, just FYI.)

* Need some more holiday craft inspiration? Check here for other great crafting and decorating ideas: I Heart Naptime

– Kat

One thought on “Bag Football

  1. beyond relevance November 18, 2012 at 9:21 am Reply

    That’s a great idea! Thanks! I remember playing ‘football’ games at school during study halls, lol.

    Terri Miller
    http://www.beyond-relevance.com

What do you think?

