Project Who Needs A Hero: Day 3

The meat and potatoes of the project! Two days ago, I showed you how I purchased my supplies, which was an adventure in and of itself. On Day 1, I gathered my supplies. On Day 2, I did a lot of the dirty work…or so I thought. That day was a BREEZE compared to this one. But that’s okay. Today I painted the area. That’s pretty obvious, so I won’t bother you with the details there. It ended up looking like this:

I waited for it to dry. And after that, I started the process of putting up a shelf. Why a shelf? Remember, there was a big hole here from where the Cancer Box resided. And we’re probably waiting a year or so before knocking down the tile and drywall. At that point, we will likely hang a new, full cabinet rather than the mini one that is there. But for now, I wanted something in that space because it’s just so empty!

Here I am, ready to start using a power tool! Look at me. I’m all Betty Bad Ass.

 

And here I am, ten minutes later, when I realize I goofed and need a hammer to knock some anchors into the walls. Note: You can’t just drill into dry wall. You will make a boo-boo. Or two. Or seven… Not so Betty Bad Ass…

After a quick Skype chat with my critique partner and her husband (Shhh, don’t tell Sam!) I was back on track. I hung the shelf with a medium amount of fuss, and was actually pretty stoked about my skill set at this point. Now it was time to clean up and decorate. Or, well, okay not decorate. But set things up. It’s going to be a coffee station! At least, until we change things around. Eventually it’ll hold a cinnamon shaker, some sweetener packets, cute mugs for the season, and a few K-cups. But this was all I had on hand tonight.

 

Let’s do a little side by side comparison. Those are my favorite!

Is it perfect? Not even close. The repair job wasn’t amazing or perfect, and I accidentally drilled too many holes for the shelf so I have to go back and spackle those. But it’s a hell of a lot better than what we had to begin with, which was a nasty hole and a big empty space. So I’ll take it!

And then I decided, since I was practically an expert now (HA!), I’d tackle one more small job. I hung a paper towel holder thingie (technical term, yeah?) in the laundry room. After quickly punching in the anchors (look at me, I’m so smart…)

I managed to hang the holder thingie with almost no fuss. Less than ten minutes, really. I’m extremely proud of myself for that one. Two weeks ago, doing this single thing by myself would have taken an hour. But after that stupid shelf in the kitchen, I’m feeling much better about my skills.

So there you have it. Sam came home and was stoked about it. He kept playing up how proud he was of me for taking on projects I was unsure of. But really, I think he was just thrilled at having gotten out of having to do them himself.

And I’ve learned some important things about myself. 1.) I can do more stuff than I let myself think. 2.) I don’t always have to do them to know I can…it’s okay to let Hubs take this crap on. I happen to like painting and picking out pretties… and 3.) I have awesome friends who are willing to Skype with me and waste their time just to make sure I know how to properly insert a drywall anchor.

So there you have it. What I gleaned from my project. I’m glad I did it! And I’m glad Ruth got to watch Mommy learn something new and challenge herself a little bit.

Kat

What do you think?

